The city of Pune in western India is known for its educational facilities, having more than 100 educational institutes and nine universities.Facilities in most colleges are sparse. Since this is primarily a student town, a large demand exists for student services — mainly food, beverages, etc.


The University of Pune was established in 1948. Spread over a comprehensive 400 acre (1.6 km²) campus, the university is home to 46 academic departments and several important research institutes, including the National Centre for Radio Astrophysics (NCRA), Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), National Centre For Cell Science (NCCS), National Institute of Virology (NIV), Gokhale Institute of Politics and Economics (GIPE), Ajeenkya DY Patil University and Dnyaneshwar Vidyapeeth, Purandar Vidyapeeth among others.

Deemed Universities

There are more than seven other deemed universities in the city.These are:

Private universities


Engineering colleges

Management colleges

Other colleges

References-Jump up^